where’s the erotic?

Martti Lahti writes, although I think this is no secret, that “the body, too, is a site where sensory siimuli are registered.”  If this is the main point of technology – that is, technology is a means to making us a feel or experience things a certain way (whether we want to or not), then I have some problems with the anti-essentialism of Donna Haraway.

Postmodern feminists like Haraway argue against structuralism.  That is, they argue that we are not essentially anything – we aren’t essentially male or female or gay or straight (or people, in this case).  I don’t agree with this – I think some characteristics of people come from nature (e.g. I have brown eyes, I have a certain sexuality).  But my problem isn’t that I disagree, it’s that I think the question is wrong.

My problem with anti-structural feminism is that in the process of delinking women from their assigned societal roles (which is fine), they make an argument which means that gay people and others like Native Americans can’t claim their identity, which are identities I think are special and to be preserved.  Hers is an anti-cultural argument.

Sorry, I am still a structuralist.  I don’t believe in the kind of “queer theory” that says anyone can be anything and anyone can feel anything or attracted to a person, elephant or cyborg.  That is not to say we shouldn’t let people feel what they feel or test out anything – however, I’m concerned that this cyborg theory is more interested in circumscribing people than in freeing them, at least from the point of view of the orgasm.

Anyway, blurring the cyborg-human divide in order to de-define gender, without considering the effect of that division on the orgasm, not only disrespects gay people.  It disrespects everyone because the only thing most people want from gender is orgasm.  I don’t see how we can consider cyborg culture without geting past our puritanism.

One Response to “where’s the erotic?”

  1. katherineer Says:

    I definitely agree with what you say about how Haraway describes how individuals can not really claim their own identity, which is very important and essential, in my opinion. I think we are essentially, male, female, gay, straight, etc.

Leave a Reply

